Copying my favorite knit swing top

My favorite top this summer is a very stretchy swing top from Bisou Bisou.  I figured it would be an easy top to knock-off. . . and it was!

I took measurements from the swing top and drafter my own pattern based on those specs, tweaking them slightly along the way.

Since I was going to use a solid fabric, rather than a print, I decided to add contrast neck and armhole trims as well as a contrast wide hem border to give it a bit of character.

Here are pics of the original (print-fabric) swing top and my knock-off (orange solid fabric with contrast trims) swing top: 

Image

Image

Image

Image

I’ll post a few photos of the work-in-progress soon.  Overall, I’m pleased with the new version, although I’ve already altered the pattern to be a bit less A-line near the hem and decreased the AH trim length (I would have liked it to be a bit more snug to the body).

I may try another version, this time with a drape-y silk fabric rather than the stretch knit.  It’s got enough ease in the chest and sweep to work. . . I think!

Leave a Reply

